---
category: [Administration & Integrations, Administration & Integrations/Custom Integrations & Apps, Platform and Product Extensions, Platform and Product Extensions/Workday Extend, Platform and Product Extensions/Integration]
keyword: [Extend, Model Components, Extend Business Objects, MCBO, Model Component Business Objects, Business Objects, Model BO, Attachment Objects]
nav: wcp_docs
parent_url: /wcp_docs/
title: >- 
  Steps: Purge Data from Extend Objects
layout: subsection
---

### Context

<a id="context_N10021_N1001E_N10001"></a>
You can permanently purge data from Workday Extend business and attachment objects.

You can purge data from standard fields in an Extend business or attachment object but you can't purge data from derived fields, or purge the object itself.

When you purge a `SINGLE_INSTANCE` and `MULTI_INSTANCE` field with a related business object, you purge the relationship between instances of the Extend business object and the related business object.

You also can't purge instances you previously deleted using the REST API of the business or attachment object.

### Steps

1.  <a id="step_N10098_N10095_N1004F_N10001"></a>To mark the instance data of an Extend business or attachment object as purgeable, add this attribute to the standard fields you want to purge:

    `"isPurgeable": true`

2.  <a id="step_N100A7_N10095_N1004F_N10001"></a>(Optional) To mark the file data of an Extend attachment object as purgeable, add this attribute to the object definition:

    `"isFilePurgeable": true`

    When you mark the file data of an attachment object as purgeable, you purge the `file` and `fileName` fields when you purge instances of the attachment.

3.  <a id="step_N10029_N10026_N1000E_N10001"></a>(Optional) [Create a Custom Report for Purging Data](/wcp_docs/hly1643411364074.html).

    Workday requires a privacy purge report to purge privacy data. You can create a new report or use an existing report that contains the data you want to purge.

4.  <a id="step_N10099_N10094_N10062_N10001"></a>(Optional) Access the <b>Edit Tenant Setup - System</b> task.

    Enter a custom message in the <b>Purging Warning Message</b> field. This message displays above the standard disclaimer when you confirm a purge of person data.

    Security: <i>Set Up: Tenant Setup - System</i> domain in the System functional area.

5.  <a id="step_N10106_N1002D_N1001E_N10001"></a>Access the <b>Purge Person Data</b> task and select the report to use for purging data.
6.  <a id="step_N100FC_N10095_N1004F_N10001"></a>To review the data you're about to purge, click <b>View report on selected population</b>.

    Security: <i>Purge Person Data</i> domain in the System functional area.



### Result

<a id="result_N1013D_N1001E_N10001"></a>
Workday permanently deletes the data from your tenant for the instances on the custom report.

### Example

Example: Your primary business object contains a `SINGLE_INSTANCE` field and the related business object is an attachment.

When you purge instance data of the primary business object and then run a report from this business object, the attachment:

-   Doesn't display on the report if you purged the `SINGLE_INSTANCE` field.
-   Displays on the report if you didn't purge the `SINGLE_INSTANCE` field.


When you purge instance data of the attachment and then run a report from the business object, the attachment displays on the report because the relationship between the 2 instances remains intact.

