---
category: [Administration & Integrations, Administration & Integrations/Custom Integrations & Apps, Platform and Product Extensions, Platform and Product Extensions/Integration]
keyword: [Integrate, Workday Integration, Orchestrate for Integrations]
nav: wcp_docs
parent_url: /wcp_docs/
title: >- 
  Concept: Companies and User Management
layout: subsection
---

## <a id="d493e231"></a>Companies

Companies are groupings of users that are employed by the same organization. You must belong to a company to develop or deploy apps.

Workday automatically creates a company for every organization.

Users within the same company can share access to:

-   App definitions.
-   Workday tenant resources.
-   API clients (Extend customers only).
-   Workday-provided AWS accounts (Extend Professional customers only).


Within each company, Workday provides roles that determine what actions users can take within the context of the company.

To view the company you belong to and its members, select <b>Users</b> from the <b>Console</b> section of the Developer Site menu.

## <a id="d493e270"></a>Primary and Secondary Companies

Workday enables users to belong to more than 1 company if:

-   The user is participating in a Workday Education class as a student.
-   The user is participating in a Workday Extend event, such as a Hackathon.


The first company to which a user is added is their primary company. Any subsequent companies to which the user is added are their secondary companies.

Belonging to a secondary company enables users to collaborate on app development with teammates from multiple primary companies.

To switch between companies on the Workday Developer Site, select the secondary company from the drop-down menu on the top navigation bar. When you sign in, you’re viewing the last company you selected by default.

## <a id="d493e294"></a>Company Roles

When a Company Administrator adds users to a company, they assign each user a set of permissions that determines their role in the company. Users can access different resources based on these permissions, and can have 1 of these roles:

-   <b>Company Administrator</b>

    Company Administrators can perform self-service actions such as adding users to a company, inactivating or deleting user accounts, and changing user roles. Each company must have at least 2 Company Administrators. Company Administrators can also do anything that a Developer can do.

    <b>Note:</b> If you inactivate or delete a user from their primary company, you automatically inactivate or remove them from their secondary companies.

-   <b>Developer</b>

    Developers can view and modify company-specific apps as well as add apps to the company and promote apps to Implementation, Sandbox, and Production.

-   <b>Specialist</b>

    Specialists can view and modify company-specific apps as well as add apps to the company and promote apps to Implementation and Sandbox only. Specialists can't promote apps to Production.

-   <b>Member</b>

    Members have view-only access to company-specific resources.



## <a id="d493e345"></a>Permissions Matrix

<table><thead><tr><th>Action</th><th>Company Administrator</th><th>Developer</th><th>Specialist</th><th>Member</th></tr></thead><tbody><tr><td>Add an app that you own.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Modify apps associated with your company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>View apps associated with your company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td></tr><tr><td>Promote apps associated with your company to Implementation or Sandbox.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Promote apps associated with your company to Production.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Add or remove tenants from the allowlist of API clients associated with your company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Create an API client associated with your company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>View API clients associated with your company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td></tr><tr><td>Provision Workday-provided AWS account associated with your company (Extend Professional customers only).</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Allow or remove a member's access to Workday-provided AWS account (Extend Professional customers only).</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>View members of your company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td></tr><tr><td>View roles of members who aren’t Administrators.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>View tenants associated with your company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td></tr><tr><td>View the company you belong to.</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td><td>Yes</td></tr><tr><td>View company information.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Add new members to a company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Change roles of company members.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Inactivate existing members of a company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Reset Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA) for a member.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Remove active or inactive members from their secondary companies.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Delete inactive members from their primary company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Cancel a pending invitation to join your company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr><tr><td>Create users for a company.</td><td>Yes</td><td>No</td><td>No</td><td>No</td></tr></tbody></table><br/>

